• Linda Ulleseit, author

  • NaNoWriMo!

  • Go Indie!

Novel Madness Finals 2014

booksToday my class debated the four remaining titles in our Novel Madness contest. Then they voted! The finalists for this year’s Novel Madness competition are:

Hunger Games

by Suzanne Collins

and

The Candy Shop War

by Brandon Mull

Collins’ book has been nominated every year (this is the third year of Novel Madness) and never won. This is the first nomination for Mull’s book. I find it an interesting pairing. Hunger Games is much more Young Adult, but maybe more popular because of the movie. The Candy Shop War is middle grade. In order for it to be represented here, a lot of students had to have read it. The final debate will happen on Tuesday, and we’ll crown the winner shortly afterwards.

 

38 Responses

  1. I can’t believe that The Hunger Games has been nominated every year!!!

    Like

  2. I think that this is going to be a very close match. I’m excited to see who is going to win!

    Like

  3. Will the winner get a prize this year?

    Like

  4. Both your speeches were amazing. You weren’t reading off any lines. Good luck in the finals :)

    Like

  5. Boo yah

    Like

  6. Go hunger games!!!

    Like

  7. Hunger Games and the Candy Shop War are both fantastic novels. The Candy Shop War’s speech was incredible! They were not reading off their cards at all. The Hunger Games speech was very good! I loved the reasons you gave and the way you persuaded the class to vote for you. It is going to be a great finals! :)

    Like

  8. I predict that the Hunger Games are going to win.

    Like

  9. Hunger Games always makes it near the finals. I bet the last battle will be intense!

    Like

  10. I think its going to be The Candy Shop War.

    Like

  11. They both really persuaded the audience to vote for them, especially The Hunger Games!

    Like

  12. I agree that Hunger Games are going to win. The speech is really good, and no one reads off their papers. They are really talking, not reading, and their ideas are fantastic. No offense, Candy Shop War, but Hunger Games has a very big chance of winning! :D

    Like

  13. I hope that the hunger games will finally prevail this year!

    Like

  14. I would like the Hunger Games to win, but the Candy Shop War had a really good speech.

    Like

  15. I am very excited to see which book will win. It will be very tough to pick since both speeches are very good.

    Like

  16. I think the Hunger Games should win. It’s a good book and the speech was great!

    Like

  17. I am excited to be going up against The Hunger Games in the final round of Novel Madness. Good luck to all contestants!

    Like

  18. I cant wait to see who will win. I think that it will be very close because both speeches were so persuasive.

    Like

  19. I am so excited to see who wins

    Like

  20. I think it is going to be a really close match for both the The Candy Shop War and the hunger games. Personally I want the Candy Shop War to win because I wrote the speech!

    Like

  21. I am anxious to see who wins this year’s novel madness. I really hope Hunger Games wins. it would finally prove its place as the winner, compared to last year.

    Like

  22. Your speeches were great! I think that hunger games is going to win. I personally like the book. Others might vote for it too.

    Like

  23. Wow, i never thought one of Brandon Mull’s books might be the winner of this year’s Novel Madness.

    Like

  24. I really hope the Hunger Games wins! It is my favorite novel.

    Like

  25. I hope Candyshop War wins! It is like the best novel ever!

    Like

  26. I’m surprised that The Candy Shop War actually made it to the finals. The Hunger Games is a worthy competitor, but since The Candy Shop War beat The Sea of Monsters, I’m not so sure anymore. This will be one tough competition.

    Like

  27. Anthony and Katrina made sure to involve the audience throughout the speech. With humorous parts and serious, everyone was really able to connect with the book. The Hunger Games knocked out the competition with their amazing speech

    Like

  28. I really liked the speeches. They were well planned and presented. This competition will be very intense. I’m personally voting for The Candy Shop War although Hunger Games is a little more popular.

    Like

  29. The Hunger Games speech was the best speech i’ve ever heard. I love the photo shopped pictures, they were hilarious. I am very glad and excited to have The Hunger Games in the finals. :) ;)

    Like

  30. I hope The Hunger Games wins! It’s always been one of my favorite novels and offers an exciting adventure from the eyes of Katniss. However, the other books have an equal chance of winning Novel Madness. I’m anxious about who will win! May the odds be ever in your favor!

    Like

  31. I bet the Hunger Games are going to win. Not many people have read Candyshop Wars. Maybe Candyshop Wars will win because most people vote based on their friends.

    Like

  32. I am not sure who is going to win. THe Hunger Games knocked of many worthy competitors, such as the Hobbit and Cinder. But so did the Candy Shop War, knocking of Two Towers and Eolyn. This battle is going to be very close. I don’t even know who I want to choose. I am so excited:)

    Like

  33. Katrina looks exactly like Katniss. I agree with Victoria, how funny you make the speech. I liked your photo shopped pictures a lot. May the odds be ever in your favor…Not! :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 556 other followers

