• Linda Ulleseit, author

  • NaNoWriMo!

Interview With Jeanne Bannon

Welcome to the latest stop on Jeanne Bannon’s blog tour for Invisible! Read the interview, then read the review. You can read more about Jeanne on her own blog, Beyond Words.

First of all, Jeanne, can you tell my readers five interesting things about yourself?

Five? I’m having a hard enough time coming up with one.
Hmmm, okay, I have a brown belt in karate (stop laughing! Really, I do).
I’ve seen a ghost, again, stop laughing. I really did!
I’m Italian, Maltese and Irish – a nice combo!
I’ve had two brushes with death. Once as a teenager and again in my 30s.
I’m gluten intolerant. Okay, not very interesting, but I’m scraping the bottom of the barrel at the moment

Your recent YA novel is called Invisible. Can you tell us a little about it and why you wrote it?

Invisible is about a teenage girl named Lola. She’s overweight, not popular and picked on. Lola wishes she could disappear and, one day she does. Invisible tells the story of Lola’s struggle to accept herself despite the great temptation for revenge that her newfound superpower brings. I wrote the story because there’s a little bit of me in Lola. I was bullied in grades 7 and 8 and wished I could disappear. In a small way, I suppose it empowered me as I wrote it, as well, I believe it gives teenagers a positive message.

Which Invisible character is your favorite?

I love Lola and her Grandma Rose. I go back and forth between the two. So it depends on which day you ask. Right now, Grandma Rose wins!

How long did it take to write (and rewrite) Invisible?

I got really lucky with this one. I started it in October 2010 and finished in January 2011. And when I say ‘finished,’ I mean completely polished and ready to go. Invisible was a gift. It was as if it was whispered in my ear. I doubt I will ever be able to complete a book in such a short amount of time again.

How much time a day (or a week) do you devote to writing?

Since the release of Invisible I haven’t had much time to write. Right now it’s all about promotion. I used to write from one to three or four hours a day. Now I’m lucky if I get that much done in a week.

You’re a novelist, but what other jobs or careers have you had?

I’ve worked as an editor for over 20 years. Four years as an in-house editor and the rest freelance. That’s it for jobs.

Do you have any favorite YA authors?

I know I’ve written a YA book, but I have to confess that I don’t read a lot of YA. Shame on me (hanging head in shame). But I did read the Hunger Games and loved it, so I’ll say Suzanne Collins!

What are you working on now?

I’m finishing up my paranormal thriller titled Dark Angel. I’ve been working on it for over two years and just want to complete it so that I can move onto something new.

Invisible is available now from Amazon.comSmashwords,

Reviews available from Solstice Publishing.

For the next stop on the Invisible Blog Tour, click here.

5 Responses

  1. Submitted on 2011/11/03 at 6:49 am

    Thanks for hosting me, Linda 🙂

    Like

  2. Submitted on 2011/11/03 at 3:50 pm

    This book was a kind of book you would read for enjoyment. I suggest you to read this if you just want to relax. This isn’t a complicated novel… but I still liked it! 🙂

    Like

  3. Submitted on 2011/11/03 at 5:49 pm

    Interesting interview! Wishing you tons of success with Invisible, Jeanne. Tweeting.

    Like

  4. Submitted on 2011/11/03 at 6:39 pm

    Thanks for your comment, Valerie 🙂

    Thanks, Joy. I always appreciate your kind words and well wishes 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

