• Linda Ulleseit, author

  • NaNoWriMo!

Chocolate

The natural landscape with the storm, overcast sky and lonely tree   Day #8! Chocolate

mmmmmmm chocolate, my favorite. There are many children’s books with the word chocolate in the title. Here are a few:

The Chocolate Touch by Patrick Skene Catling   *  *  *  In this parody of the classic King Midas tale, a boy is delighted to find that everything he touches turns to chocolate.

The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier  *  *  * The main character in this book stands up for what he believes in and refuses to sell chocolates for the school fundraiser.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl   *  *  * Probably the best-known of the chocolate-titled books, this one stars Charlie as he wins a tour of the chocolate factory and meets the fabulous Willy Wonka.

The Chocolate Sundae Mystery by Gertrude Chandler Warner  *  *  *  This is a Boxcar Children mystery, and the children help Mr. Brown in his ice cream shop.

For other March Flash Blog entries, click here.

5 Responses

  1. I love chocolate too — which is why I looked like I did in the video I posted in my blog for Day 5 on Health. I try to eat less, but can’t see me ever giving it up all together.

    Like

  2. How awful that I’ve only ever heard of one of the above titles. . . thank you for sharing. Great take on prompt. x

    Like

  3. Interesting list. Yes, I’ve only heard of the one too, but it could be the case these books have never made it (big) to our market. Even Charlie and the Chocolate Factory didn’t use to be that well known around here, up until recently.

    Like

  4. When I researched them, I’d only not heard of the last one, but then I’m an elementary school teacher. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

