• Linda Ulleseit, author

  • NaNoWriMo!

Life Into Fantasy

Campbell_authorpic1  Turning My Life Into a Fantasy Novel.

I’ve always been something of a dreamer, a ‘what if’ sort of gal, if you will. What if I had a horse so smart I could talk to it? What if I could travel to other worlds and have adventures? What if I could actually write a novel and sell it? That last one, I think is the most fantastical of them all. Sometimes I think being an astronaut and getting to travel to the moon would be easier than being an author, but, as trite as it is, if it were easy it probably wouldn’t be worth it.

However, being a dreamer, the impossibility of those above ideas never really stopped me. Nine and a half years ago, I got my own horse. I swear she was smart enough to hold conversations with, and she was certainly smart enough to travel to other worlds with me in tow and create adventures. I just had to be smart enough to listen, and put her ideas to paper, and now, even the last dream has come true. I have other dreams to be sure, but some of the biggest ones have been realized in the last few years.

Sabaska’s Tale is a novel inspired by my life on the trail and my horse and turned into a fantasy novel. And before you ask, no, I’m not the MC, but my horse, Sabaska, is the main horse character, also called Sabaska. Much of this story came about on my many adventures with my her. It didn’t take much effort to translate our adventures into something far more interesting than a trail ride in the mountains, it just took writing it down. (I won’t go into the countless rewrites to get to the novel you may now decide to read, but I did a lot of that too.)

I’ve been told that my passion for horses and Sabaska in particular really comes out in this story. That pleases me and I think that because we had so many adventures in our 9 years together, it gave me the depth and experience to write a something that does display my passion and knowledge of horses and I hope it inspires others to have adventures with their horses and maybe even turn their adventures into more novels for horse crazy teens to read.

 

J.A. Campbell is the author of Sabaska’s Tale. Check out her giveaway! Sabaska's Tale GiveawayPromo

Find out more about Julie at  www.writerjacampbell.com  and follow her on twitter @Pfirewolf

2 Responses

  1. Thank you so much for having me here today!

    Julie

    Like

Leave a Reply

