• Linda Ulleseit, author

  • NaNoWriMo!

Kissed!

Kissed banner copy

Today I’m thrilled to be hosting a stop on the blog tour for a new YA book–Kissed by Kimberly Loth. Check out the other stops on the tour, and click the links for more info or to buy!

The Power of Gratitude ~ A Guest Post by Kimberly Loth

The other day I had an interesting conversation with my husband. We were talking about the old days when were young, broke, and miserable. We always had families that we were friends with that we admired, people that seemed to have it all together. Truthfully, at times, we were green with envy. We wanted to have it all together too. How was that everything just fell into their laps. Plus, they were always so happy. I remember thinking, “Why did I get the short end of the stick?”

As we were reminiscing and walking down the streets of Cairo, I realized that we had become one of those families that had it all together. Honestly, our circumstances haven’t changed that much. We’re still broke most of the time, but we are happy. We have fantastic kids, jobs we love, and a good healthy marriage. Plus we live in Egypt and I just published my book. Life seriously doesn’t get any better than this.

Yet, I have colleagues who are in the same position we are and they’re still miserable. So what changed? Why are we happy and others are not?

One word. Attitude.

Particularly and attitude of gratitude (no, I didn’t make that up, but I can’t remember where I heard it.)

We thank God everyday for the blessings in our lives. Even on days when those blessings are hard to find, we express our thanks. But it doesn’t stop there. I ALWAYS say Thank You. Always. Sometimes multiple times. Those two little words are the most powerful words the universe. They aren’t hard to say and take almost no time at all. Yet they show the person that did something for you or gave you something that you appreciated it.

When I published my book, I wasn’t expecting the amount of support I received. I mean, I knew I would be supported, but I was blown away by how much people were willing to do to promote my book. Everyone has been so wonderful. My readers, reviewers, bloggers, friends, family, my team (agent, publicist, cover designer, etc), and a multitude of others that I can’t remember at the moment.

Without thinking much about it, I went about expressing my gratitude to those that helped me. It’s become a habit by now and part of me just assumed that everyone said thanks. It’s not hard, right? But something unexpected happened when I started writing all my thank you emails (well over a hundred). Bloggers would email me back and tell me that they appreciated my thanks because it was so rare to get that from an author.

Do you want to be happy? Say Thank You.

Thank you for reading. Thank you for your support. And as they say here in Egypt “Humdallah” (thank God).

kissed

Buy the Book for only 99 cents  http://amzn.to/1oeQAPf

 

About the Book

Naomi is rescued from her impending nuptials by the mysterious Kai who sends her off to Vegas with a sweet kiss and a promise of only a short time apart. But there Naomi meets Puck, a boy with wine colored hair and kisses that rival Kai’s. Soon Naomi is swept into a glamorous world where kisses hold power and not is all is at it first appears. Soon she must choose, freedom but heartache or love and captivity.

 

About the Author

Kimberly Loth can’t decide where she wants to settle down. She’s lived in Michigan, Illinois, Missouri, Utah, California, Oregon, and South Carolina. She finally decided to make the leap and leave the U.S. behind for a few years. Currently, she lives in Cairo, Egypt with her husband and two kids.

She is a high school math teacher by day (please don’t hold that against her) and YA author by night. She loves romantic movies, chocolate, roses, and crazy adventures. Kissed is her first novel.

 Connect with the Author

Facebook

Website

Goodreads

Amazon

Twitter

 

Leave a Reply

